Frequently Asked Questions


What is TriYoga?

TriYoga is a complete method that includes the full range of traditional yoga practices, including hatha yoga, nada yoga, karma yoga, bhakti yoga, and jnana yoga practices. “TriYoga is in the tradition of the ancient yoga in that it is guided by the direct experience and intuitive knowledge that arise from the inner flow of kundalini, or universal life-energy” (Kaliji).


What are TriYoga Flows?

TriYoga Flows is another name for TriYoga’s complete and systematic hatha yoga method. The Flows integrate flowing and sustained postures (asana), breath (pranayama) and focus (mudra) in systematized sequences. This trinity practice is deeply meditative and transformative because it arose out of Kaliji’s direct experience of kriyavati (the manifestation of the flow of prana, life energy, through hatha yoga). There are seven levels of TriYoga Flows in addition to Basics. The Flows are comprised of poses that are categorized into seven main posture groups: Standing, Forward Bends, Spinal Twists, Backward Bends, Balancing, Inversions, and Sitting. Since the method is systematic, students can progress from Basics to Level 1 and then to subsequent levels as they increase their flexibility, strength, endurance and knowledge of the method. Through sustained awareness on all aspects of the practice, the inner flow naturally emerges.


Who is Kali Ray?

Kali Ray is also known as Kaliji, Sri Kali Lakshmi Deviji, and Yogini Kaliji. She is the founder of TriYoga, a systematized yoga method with Basics to Level 7 TriYoga Flows and Prana Vidya (the trinity of breathing practices, concentration techniques and meditation that balance and increase prana or life energy), as well as hundreds of hand mudras. Kaliji has devoted her life to sharing the ancient, universal teachings of TriYoga. Kaliji is a yogini from the Jayalakshmi Datta Avadhoota lineage, initiated by Sri Ganapati Sachchidananda Swamiji. He recently conferred to her the honorary title of Vishwa Bandhu (Friend of the Universe). Many students throughout the world have been inspired and transformed by her presence, her mastery of the flow and the ageless wisdom inherent in the TriYoga teachings.


What is the significance of the name TriYoga?

TriYoga represents the Universal Trinity that manifests the Divine. “Tri” means trinity. The Trinity can be found throughout creation. In philosophy, TriYoga refers to body, mind and spirit. In hatha yoga, TriYoga refers to asana (posture), pranayama (breathing practices) and mudra (‘seal’ or practices to develop focus). TriYoga has its source in the triple principle of sat (existence), chit (knowledge) and ananda (bliss). The trinity also manifests as the three energies of the mind: sattva (balance, calm), rajas (activity), and tamas (lethargy, stability). This Trinity is ultimately the formless manifestation of the one Supreme Spirit.